Swayamsiddh Samman

Swayamsiddh Samman: Ambassadors of Change

JSPL Foundation, the CSR arm of JSPL, instituted the ‘Swayamsiddh Samman’ in 2015 to identify, reward and nurture the network of social innovators and change makers at the grass-root level in India. The award was instituted to honour the unsung heroes who overcame adversities in their lives to create their own unique identity, displaying exemplary courage, commitment and dedication towards their cause.

The first-ever SwayamsiddhSamman awards were organised in the states of Chhattisgarh, Odisha and Jharkhand in March, May and July, 2015 respectively. The Awardees were beneficiaries of JSPL’s societal interventions themselves, who in turn continued on the path of social good and made a difference in the lives of many, thus forming a human chain. The ‘Swayamsiddh Samman’ has so far been conferred upon more than 160 grass root action leaders, both at State and National level.

Taking the concept further, JSPL Foundation organised the National level ‘Rashtriya Swayamsiddh Samman’, that elicited an overwhelming response with 358 entries from across the country. Out of these, 203 entries were shortlisted based on laid down parameters. 25 individuals and organisations across the country from different walks of life were felicitated with the Rashtriya Swayamsiddh Samman: 9 Individuals and 10 Organisations from across sectors received the prestigious award and a cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh and a certificate of appreciation to support their ongoing work and enhance the impact on ground. Additionally, Six individuals / organisations were also given a Special Recognition certificate and a cash prize of Rs. 50,000 in cash. The awards were conferred in 10 categories viz. Women Empowerment, Entrepreneurship (start-ups), Education, Agriculture, Rural Development, Public Service / Social Service, Livelihood / Vocational Skills, Health, Innovation / Technology and Environment. Today, these awardees have become ‘Ambassadors of Change’ and are guiding others to achieve their dreams.

United Nations Global Compact Network India (UNGCN), the Indian arm of United Nations Global Compact (UNGC), was the Knowledge Partner for the awards and was responsible for earmarking the parameters and finalising the awardees. UNGCN was responsible for the entire process of eliciting call for entries, earmarking the parameters and finalising the awardees with the help of four regional juries and one national jury. The call for entries began from early September and ended by October.

Four regional jury meetings (for South, East, West and North) were held in November 2015 in Bengaluru, Kolkata, Mumbai and Delhi respectively to shortlist the entries. Jury members comprised of experts from all walks of life who have made a mark for themselves in their respective fields. The Regional juries recommended 43 entries to be placed before the National Jury that met on November 27, 2015 to finalise the winners. The National Jury comprised Dr. Swaroop Raval, Educationist and Social Activist and former actress; Mr Ashok Sajjanhar, Former Ambassador of India to Kazakhstan, Sweden and Latvia; Mr Anurag Aggarwal, Principal Scientist, CSIR Institute of Genomics & Integrative Biology; ; Mr Abhishek Humbad, Co-Founder, NextGen and Ms Shallu Jindal.

For more details, please visit our website : www.jsplfoundation.co.in/swayamsiddh